Subscription Resources
- National Council of the Teachers of English
Full-text access to all NCTE journals and magazines published from 1997 to present. - NetLibrary
Full-text access to thousands of books covering a wide range of academic subjects. When you use PILOT: The Library's Catalog to search for books, your results will include links to these e-books. - Newspaper Source
Access the full-text for more than 400 newspapers and other sources. Includes: USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Times (London); plus transcripts from CNN, National Public Radio, CBS News, Fox News, CNBC, etc. (EBSCO) - North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral HistoriesOral histories, letters, diaries, and other personal narratives from more than 2,100 people providing a "unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950." Search by nationality, year of immigration, point of entry, etc. (Alexander Street Press)
- North American Indian Thought and CultureThis collection includes the life stories of well-known people like Pocahontas and Sitting Bull, and lesser-known men and women. It includes autobiographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories. Coverage begins with early 17th century encounters with colonists and extends to the present. (Alexander Street Press)
- North American Theater Online
A comprehensive resource covering all aspects of Canadian and American Theater. Includes the full-text of many plays, along with reference materials discussing plays, people, theaters, productions, and production companies. Also includes images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other resources. - North American Women's Letters and Diaries This collection includes the letters and diaries of over 1,300 women living from colonial times to the 1950s. There are extensive search options, including the ability to limit by religion, marital status, age, time period, and much more. (Alexander Street Press)
Free Web Resources
- NASW: Evidence-Based Practice
Definitions and links to resources regarding evidenced-based practices in social work. From the National Association of Social Workers. - NASW: National Association of Social Workers
The primary professional social work organization, and a great source for social work information. - National Academies Press
NAP publishes reports from the Nat'l Acad. of Sciences, the Nat'l Acad. of Engineering, the Inst. of Medicine, and the Nat'l Research Council. You can read many (but not all) of the books online for free. Scroll down to the "Free Resources" section. - National Agricultural Library
A primary source for agricultural information for researchers, educators, policymakers, consumers of agricultural products, and the public. - National Agricultural Statistics Service
Timely, accurate, and useful statistics concerning U.S. agriculture, including crops and livestock. Can search by state and county level. From the US Dept. of Agriculture. - National Center for Biotechnology Information
A "go-to site" for molecular biology research. NCBI creates public databases, conducts research in computational biology, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical information. - National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
NCES collects, analyzes, and reports statistics on the condition of American education; and reviews and reports on education activities internationally. - National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
NCJRS is a government resource offering justice and substance abuse information. The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains summaries of criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources. - National Library of Education
The NLE responds to phone, mail, and electronic requests regarding: the Department of Education; education materials from other federal agencies; resources available through ERIC; and statistics from the National Center for Education Statistics. - National Library of Medicine
A major resource for medical information. Topics include: general information, news, databases and information sources, special information programs, research programs, and grants. - National Park and Recreation Association
NRPA advocates for parks, open space, and recreational opportunities for all Americans. - National Science Digital Library
NSDL was created by the National Science Foundation to provide educators at all levels of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education with innovative teaching resources and tools. - National Security Archive
An independent, non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University. The Archive collects and publishes declassified documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). - National Security Council
The National Security Council is the President's principal forum for considering national security and foreign policy matters with his/her senior national security advisors and cabinet officials. - National Senior Citizens Law Center
"The National Senior Citizens Law Center advocates nationwide to promote the independence and well-being of low-income elderly individuals and persons with disabilities." - NationMaster: World Statistics, Country Comparisons
A terrific source for world statistics! Easy to use, with tables, maps, sorting options, and more. You can even set up correlations. Search by category or by country. - NCBI Journals Database
A tool, not a style guide. This PubMed service will convert journal abbreviations to full title names--and vice versa. Enter either one in the search box and click "Go." Useful for identifying obscure, abbreviated titles found in a citation. - New York Times Index
Search The New York Times from 1851 to the present using the NYT site. It provides free, full-text access to articles from 1851 to 1922 and text (no images) content since 1987. Other years are available for a fee. Cal U patrons: see more info. - Newseum: World's Most Interactive Museum
The Newseum is both a physical museum and an online resource for news information. - North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
NAICS is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. Use this site to identify NAICS codes.
Description
Loading content... please wait



