Full-Text Journal Finder: HelpLibrary of Congress Classification SystemProblems with Access to Library ResourcesRenewing Library Materials OnlineRSS Feeds: Keeping Up on New BooksSpanish Language Resources in PILOT Using the Library's "Item Retrieval Request Service"
AMS Journals Online: Help PageARTstor: Creating Links to ImagesEBSCO Tutorials LexisNexis Academic Tutorial UBorrow: What is it?
Citation & Style Guides DOI? What's a DOI?Internet Tutorials: Your Basic Guide to the Internet Procedures for Submitting a Thesis to ProQuest 
Adobe Acrobat Reader: How to InstallCampus Login Help
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

HELP! 

Get answers to your questions--well, some of them!
Last update: Nov 16th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.calu.edu/help  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Full-Text Journal Finder: Help            Print Page
  
 

Overview of FTJF

What Does the Full-Text Journal Finder Do?

The Full-Text Journal Finder (FTJF) will help you find out if the full-text of an article you have found is available. It can tell you which journals are available:

  1. Online in the databases available to Cal U patrons, or
  2. In the library's print collection of journals.

Use the FTJF when you already know:

  1. The name of the journal you are looking for, or
  2. The citation to an article you want to find.

Do not use this tool if you are trying to find articles. Use one of our other resources for that kind of search.

 

Time for Interlibrary Loan?

Is it time to use Interlibrary Loan?

If the library does not have your article online or in print, you can request a copy by using our Interlibrary Loan Article Request Form. You will know that we don't have your article, and that it is time to use Interlibrary Loan when:

  • FTJF finds "0 records" when you searched for the journal title, OR
  • FTJF finds your journal title, but your article is outside of the available dates.

Do you have time for Interlibrary Loan?

  • Articles take 3-5 days
  • Books take 4-7 days

These are averages! Since other libraries are involved, we cannot guarantee how long the process will take.

 
 

Example: HOW DO I USE Full-Text Journal Finder

Suppose you have a citation for an article published in the June 2006 Philosophy of Science journal. Can you get this article online in full-text, or find a print version in the library's Periodical Collection?

  • To answer your question, go to the FTJF and enter the journal title in the search box.
    Tip: You don't have to type the entire title, since the default search will look for any title that begins with the letters you type. Just type enough letters to keep your results short enough to look through easily.
  • After you click search, you will see that Philosophy of Science is available online in two online databases:
    • Academic Search Premier from 9/1/1993 to the present
    • JSTOR from 1934 to 2003
    • And also in our print collection (see below for details)

Since we want an article from 2006, JSTOR won't help--it ends in 2003. We need to use Academic Search Premier.

  • Clicking on the Academic Search Premier link will display a list of all available years for the journal.
  • Our article is from June 2006, so click on 2006, then select the June issue.
  • You will see a list of ALL articles from this issue of the journal in Academic Search Premier.
  • Find your article in the list, and you will have full-text access.

Note: Sometimes the article you want will not fall in the range of available years. This means that we do not have online, full-text access to it. If FTJF gives a link to the library's print collection, you can see if we have the issue in print (see below).

 

Finding Journals in the Library's PRINT COLLECTION

The FTJF indicates that print journals are available in the library (2nd floor) with a link that reads: California University of PA Print Collection.

Using our example from above, the FTJF shows that Philosophy of Science is available in our Print Collection.

  • Clicking on the Print Collection link will open another window displaying the journal's record in PILOT: The Library's Catalog.
  • Scroll down the record until you see the Library has: field. Look at the date range. If the date of your article falls into the range of dates in our collection, then the library has your article in print.
  • The entry for Philosophy of Science says the library has: 1964-1992. Our 2006 article, therefore, is not in the library, but a 1990 article would be.
TIP: If the year is followed by a dash (1972-), then we have been getting this journal since 1972, and we continue to receive it. If the dash is followed by another year (1980-1999), then 1999 was the last year we received this journal.
 

Finding Journals in LEXISNEXIS ACADEMIC

LexisNexis Academic is a little different, and requires a little more work...sorry!

When you click on the LexisNexis Academic link in FTJF:

  • LexisNexis will take you to a search box.
  • The "Sources" box will contain your publication title.
  • Enter a phrase from the article title in the Search terms box.
  • Note: Make sure the Specify date reads All available dates.
  • Click on Search to find your article.

TIP: If you search for more than one word, LexisNexis will treat the two or more words as a phrase. Do not leave out little words, or the phrase you enter will not be exact and will not be found. The longer your phrase, however, the fewer results you will get, which will make your life easier.

 
 

Ask a Librarian!

Note: This AIM Chat box requires Flash.
If the Chat box is empty, refresh your browser screen.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait