Introduction
Once you've researched, you need to document what you've found in your paper.
There are several major (and many more minor) styles used for formatting citation information. This guide provides links to resources that will help you properly format your paper according to the style specified by your professor.
This page begins with general guides covering multiple styles. Additional subpages focus on these styles:
APA: American Psychological Association Style
MLA: Modern Language Association Style
AMA: American Medical Association Style
Miscellaneous Styles & Topics
Library Links
Citation Creators
These tools let you chose your citation style and source type, then you enter the information and they create a formatted citation for you. They can be very handy, but be sure to check your results for errors! Automation is not perfect!
- Citation Machine
Type your citation information and this site will display a citation formatted according to APA, MLA, Chicago, or Turabian format. Very useful--but not perfect! Check your results!. Access to this site is sometimes very slow or problematic. - KnightCite Citation Service
If you like "Citation Machine," give this site a try! Choose your style (MLA, APA, or Chicago), select your source type, enter the information, and let it produce your citation. Be sure to check it for errors! Automation is not perfect! - DocsCite: Citing Government Documents
DocsCite is a step-by-step guide to putting government publication citations into proper style format. From Arizona State University.
Guides that Cover Multiple Styles
These sites cover all of the "major" citation styles. You will find help with the Chicago and Turabian Styles in these sites.
- Citing Sources
A good source for clear explanations on Citing Sources Within Your Paper (the in-text citations) and then Assembling a List of Works Cited (your bibliography) using APA, MLA, Turabian, or Chicago style formats. From Duke University libraries. - Citation and Style Guides
This is a helpful collection of links describing how to cite print and electronic sources using APA, MLA, Turabian, Chicago, and other styles. From Concordia University in Montreal. - Guide to Citing Government Publications
Demonstrates the most common examples of citing government documents, based on the Chicago/Turabian bibliographic style. If you are using the APA or MLA style, you will need to modify the citation example accordingly. - How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography
Need help creating an annotated bibliography? Look here. Check out their Citing Sources Help Pages (covering APA and MLA styles). From Cornell University libraries.
Ask a Librarian!
Note: This AIM Chat box requires Flash. If the Chat box is empty, refresh your browser screen.
Cal U Writing Center
Need help with the writing process?
The Cal U Writing Center provides free consultations and guidance to Cal U students, staff and faculty. They help people of all skill levels and at all stages of the writing process. The center provides individual conferences with trained writing consultants, group workshops and the Writer's Hotline.
Description
Loading content... please wait





